Friday, February 22, 2013

Class and stuff :3

Hi!!

Today...or rather, yesterday's class was fun. Sometimes I don't get home until like 9 something or 10 p.m. Which leaves me the late hours to browse the web.

So today was fun! In my first class we were assigned to do a group assignment. I seriously had a case of the giggles and was being really silly today! I just couldn't turn it off lol

Recently I'm quite happy. Maybe it has something to do with something I did the day before yesterday. I feel very relieved, and I feel...I just feel happy lol

Well, I'm still working on the same 2D animation project. But it's because I work on other things too. But later today I want to practice doing some figure drawings. A lot of my character designs look very static. I appreciate my teacher and classmates complimenting my work, but I see places where I can improve.

Oh! So my older sister gave me this cute little bamboo plant! It makes my room feel lively. It just sits on my dresser.

Um...besides me gushing over being in a good mood, I would really like some tea now. Hm....I'm also silently waiting, but enjoying myself.

Oh! One more thing, I'm really into the Japanese culture. I even stopped studying the language (besides the subtle meaning of certain phrases) in order to gain a better understanding of the culture. I never thought I would me so immersed in a culture as I would be with Japan. To think it all started with a simple class assignment. On a whim, I chose to write about the Japanese workforce. And from then on I've just been reading all about the country.

In a way I'd like to place myself into that society. To be in that country and engulf myself in what it has to teach me. I also find Paris and Italy pretty interesting. Another place is the Arctic region. The day before yesterday I just felt like reading about Eskimos! They are seriously interesting people! Power to them :3

But back to Japan, I feel a great respect for a lot of different things, people, cultures etc. With Japan, I can't say all Japanese people will behave the same way, the same with any other people of a race. However, what I'm trying to say is that I like the subtle messages they seem to understand.

They are more indirect, while we (Americans) are more direct. I was watching a video by a Japanese woman who was talking about Japanese beauty standards. I figured she would start talking about the popular subculture fashion. But she actually said something that surprised me! And before hearing this I always wondered why things such as keeping a youthful innocence and being pure seemed important in their media.

So she posted three pictures. One of a flower that has yet to bloom, a flower that has bloomed and a flower that is wilting.

She said that yes, some Japanese people would choose the flower that is already in full bloom, but a lot of Japanese people would choose either the wilting flower or the one that has yet to bloom.

She explained that there's a deeper meaning and that a flower that has yet to bloom is like a person who has a hidden beauty and has yet to fully show everything. In other words, not being to flashy and leaving to the imagination.

It reminds me of geisha's. My mom (goodness) still thinks geisha's are prostitutes. But they are more sophisticated. It's much more than that. To this day there are still geisha's, but not as many as in the past. Anyway, geisha's were like working pieces of art. They never fully exposed themselves, but they were alluring and revealed only a delicate piece of themselves, the nape of their neck.

This kind of things makes me think about how a lot of people are now. It seems true for a lot of people in my generation, showing everything, leaving nothing to the imagination.

If I were a guy, I would be bored really quick! "*sighs* Oh, she's flashing me her legs again...how boring!!" is what I would say.

I feel that, as being a woman myself, we don't need to do all of that. If we wear clothes that are fitting (not to tight, not to loose) it gives shape to our form without overly showing everything. I think, as geisha, this was important. Personally, I really geishas!

So, with that being said, I think what that lady said was very interesting! That's not to say some Japanese guys will think this way, but I still think it's nice!

For example, there's this thing called "yaeba" this is mainly where a girl's teeth kind of crooked in a certain kind of way. It's considered cute! But to a few Americans, it leaves them scratching their heads and saying "Huh?"

It just goes to show that beauty is different for all parts of the world. :3

Hm...I have no idea how I got on this topic!

Well, I'll be heading to bed. I'm thinking I"ll buy some honey and lemon tomorrow and make a nice hot brew! It sounds delicious~

Night~

Mon

No comments:

Post a Comment