Hi!
How are you? Me? I'm doing a lot better today!
Today I want to write about looking on the bright side. I enjoy doing this. I enjoy seeing that things will get better. However, looking on the bright side has actually taught me something and that something is that being optimistic all the time can have its disadvantages as well.
I think it raises that thought that nothing could go wrong and we expect a great deal. For example, if I look forward to a certain day I may expect so much with a bright heart. This isn't wrong nor bad, but I learned to just, although I have a plan, take what I get. Of course we can crave our own path, but it's really what we do while on that path that really matters.
This is mainly about being realistic. I found that I would often give myself a huge project to do and at the time it sounds like a really great idea. In my mind I see what amazing thing I can create to present to the world. Only to find out that I've depleted all my energy after the second day. Then I'd look at the project out of breath (not literally) thinking "what the heck did I get myself into?" and then I'd end up playing a video game....and then the procrastination sets in.
Although I've had teachers ask me "are you sure about this?" or I'll read a guide that says "set realistic boundaries" I just think "Pfft! Away with your rules" with a wave of my wrist.
It's not that I can't do it, it's just that I'm a flip-flopper and I don't like deadlines.
In a way I find that knowing who we really are as a person can really help because we know what are strength and weaknesses are. That way, you can look at a situation realistically and say "well, I know I can do this, but I'm having a problem in this area when it comes to working on something" and while working out that problem, slowly make the needed adjustments to improve that weakness. Weaknesses can be strengthen! It just takes time.
I'm a pretty optimistic person and I believe in giving chances, but I also understand that some people can be harmful without a care. I'll even say that when I write blogs here with the intention of lifting people, I wonder if people will read in between the lines and see the gray areas as well.
For example, I may say that it's good to acknowledge people's weakness and if they try hard to work at it but they fail, give them a chance. Yet, I don't think I have to say that if the person fails and they want you to stick around to constantly do the work for them, then walk away because they aren't going to learn that way.
In a way I would hope that people can understand or come to understand that there's another side to these blogs than that.
Yet, I feel that sometimes some people need these kinds of things spelled out to them. With things like knowing looking look both ways before crossing a street, or wearing extra clothing in the cold, most people would consider this common sense, but some people may either think their indestructible or they don't know...or maybe they do know but they don't care for safety...or they like the thrill lol either way I'm always wonder if I should elaborate on something or not. I wonder this for the simple reason that regardless of what I example, a person may interpret it however they want, or however their brain processes it simply due to what they know.
I don't think people will get it the way you GET IT, simply because they aren't you or living as you. You've experienced things from a unique perspective that is completely for you. Now, that doesn't mean people can't relate, it's just things can't be completely understood the way you may want it to. Which is why I've come to see that I don't need to explain every little detail. What does matter, however, is whether or not you've gain some kind of answer from my blogs.
If you feel or think "I knew it" or "I needed someone to say that" or anything like that, that's the whole point.
Also, I've come to think my blogs sound harsh. I think it's because there are times when there is no nice way to say something.
For example, you can't throw your girlfriend a your-boyfriend-is-cheating-on-you party and expect that the cake, ice cream and balloons will make things better lol Sometimes things will get serious, but it doesn't have to be a bad thing. Think of it like this, when you know you have to actually get to work, you become serious right? But you can still have fun!
I've had my younger sister tell me I"m harsh. The way she puts it makes it seem as if I'm mean or inconsiderate. Well, that incorrect. I can tolerate things only for so long. After a while the eyebrows draw closer to the eyes and neck starts to rotate lol
So, although I say view things realistically, it doesn't mean give up on being optimistic. Balance is key! Don't worry though, I'm still learning to balance things out too! I'm wobbly when it comes to physical work, but I think I'm pretty decent when it comes to working with my mind. So I'm read about self-discipline because I know it's what I should learn if I want to improve.
Yet, this is by choice. No one in my family tells me I have to do this.All the work I've done up until is by choice. I tell myself I have to work harder. I tell myself I have to work out.
Now, a family member can tell me to do something, but it's really up to me on whether I want to or not. :)
Be happy. Smile. Be healthy~
Mon
You had me chuckling a few times, especially with this line: throw your girlfriend a your-boyfriend-is-cheating-on-you party ... :-)
ReplyDeleteI'm glad you liked it :)
Delete