Sunday, August 10, 2014

Dr. Mon + Being smart (?)

It's getting pretty late, but I wanted to share this.

Sometime this year my younger sister started calling me Dr.Mon. When she gets hurt or feels some kind of uncomfortable pain, in the distance I would hear "Paging Dr.Mon. Paging Dr.Mon." My mom and sister do this as a joke of course. It's mainly because I'm the only one in the house who has medical stuff.

I purchase bandages, painkillers and alcohol. I'd like to stock up on more medical equipment. I realized that this household is not prepared for things like that lol it's really a shame. After noticing this I started to build up my own first aid equipment. 

Besides, my younger sister is often very prone to hurting herself. Now, if it's a broken arm or something, there's really not much I can do lol I'll call 911!

Also, I kind of got into a tiny dispute with my younger sister. She claims that I'm smart when in reality I don't think I am at all. It's not that I think I'm dumb, it's just that I think I'm not "smart" by what she may be considering to be smart. I don't want to be called smart. Actually, I just want to be what I am, and if I happen to know some information then so be it.

I dunno, the term "smart" kind of feels like the person saying it is putting themselves down. I'm really not into people putting down their abilities. So maybe this is why I'm a bit sensitive to things like this. 

Well, in a way it's like this, I read stuff, but that doesn't make me smart. If I have book smarts, street smarts, political smarts, etc,  then I may consider it lol but I read things on a whim, not to say "now I have the key!", it's just out of curiosity. 

She claimed that it's because I use "big" words lol to me this sounds very elementary. The thing is is that I know how to spell simple words lol I don't use big words. For example, if I say I have an extensive vocabulary, my sister would ask "what does extensive mean?" lol I read books and sometimes I'll come across a word I don't know the meaning of. Sometimes I don't look it up,and sometimes I do. Sometimes I'll look up even the simplest words to gain a better understanding of it. But I, by no means, consider this smart lol I find that I'm more curious and seeking of things if anything.

Maybe if she would seek the answer to things more often, rather than asking me all the DARN time, she'd get it. That's another problem I have recently. I'm not sure what it is, but they seem to think I have the answers O__o which is really strange to me lol I'm just like them. I have questions, it's just I search for answers online. 

Got a pain in my stomach? I search for it online. What I do is gather as much information as I feel is necessary, then I'll come to a conclusion as to what I feel is closer to the answer I'm searching for.

At the moment, dealing with  physical things are a bit easier. I'd like to become more observant, more aware of things. So I'd like to work on that.

Anyway, I had nothing better to write about lol So my blog may seem a bit boring. Not much has been happening these past few days. 

Mon

1 comment:

  1. You're so like me when it comes to knowing medical stuff and reading to learn. Even my younger sister got onto me about using big words but she didn't mind me knowing how to help her when she went into labor. :)

    ReplyDelete