Friday, July 19, 2013

Ambiguity

I just watched a video about why things are creepy. It was pretty interesting! Now I'm watching a video where it ask "is anything real?"

But before I actually start the video, I am reading titled "the dreamtime"

I have a quick thought I want to type here. It's about fearing the unknown, he mentioned it was because ambiguity is scary to us (some of us).

Now I thought about dreams and about how they are so random, and yet, in the dream world we accept them as being true. For example, if someone in my dream as a serpent tail, it wouldn't be creepy, because it would seem normal. We wouldn't necessarily question it. But if something like this were real, in our waking time, it would be weird or strange.

I find this concept a little interesting. Personally I like horror movies (not gruesome ones). It's not that they're not scary to me, but it's interesting for me to view it and ask myself "why is that scary?"

Now the article I'm reading is this here:

http://www.questforvision.com/programs/adventures-of-the-spirit/the-dreamtime.aspx

I've only read the first paragraph, but I do believe it has something to do with our perception. I've often heard, or had someone tell me that fear is a way to help us and keep us from danger. But it's not this fear that I question, but the fear about things like giant eyeballs on a small face, or a black figure standing in a dark corner.

These things are what I question. I guess it's the fear that we don't know why it is the way it is, and will it hurt us. Things like this. This brings me back to a past experience I had in my Philosophy class where the students had to read this book. It was a book written by another instructor who worked in the same school. Now, the story seemed to not have ended the way a lot of people expected. It made people question and some of them were a bit disappointed, some questioned "so did the girl end up with him?" or "he was married, why didn't it show his wife?" the story was also filled with a lot of ambiguity where we (the readers) were left to fill in the blank.

And I think I understand why this is frustrating. From an early age we are monitored and told how to behave and how not to behave, what's appropriate, and what's not appropriate. And based off of another countries culture, it may seem strange to them that we do things the way we do and in vice versa.

This programming is so embedded in our minds that, when it it comes time for  us to make our own choices we may start to wonder "what if this is wrong?" because there's no "true answer" because in a way we soon learn that everyone is different, and it becomes an issue of "well, are they wrong, or am I wrong?"

I read a few years back (I'm not sure how many year ago) that Jesus actually spoke in parables. It said something like, his teachings were meant for people to take it however they felt it was best for them. On wiki it says a parable is similar to analogies.

I think of analogies as poems. Poems are written in a way that is symbolic and likely, not very literal. And maybe some poets did not have the intention of having the poem make sense in a way where it can be explained, but felt, as they were translating feelings.

I have read (or maybe I didn't read I don't remember) that English is one language that may have a difficult time explaining one's feelings. In Japanese they have simple utterance can mean more than a sentence in English. For example, the phrase "Otsukare sama deshita" a lot of Japanese learners (myself included) would probably explain this has meaning something like "Thank you for your hard work" because this would be said after a day of hard work. But, if we don't have the mind like a Japanese person, we may not be able to grasp the true concept behind this.

So in English, I believe that we try to translate things that we just cannot do with word because the words aren't there.

This is why I find people in the art so interesting. They translate things in a different form: visual. Sometimes, these things don't quite make sense to us, and some of us may find it has strange. And I think it's mainly due to the complexity of translating an image from the minds plain (the part of our mind that dreams) into a physical manifestation of sight or sound. This is kind of like dreaming, but instead we are awake and trying to make sense of another person's dream.

I've read that we know ourselves better than we think. But maybe some people would like others to tell them who they are because they just can't figure it out. And why should they work so hard if someone else is willing to do the job for them?

Anyways, a lot of what I wrote seems to tie back to one another. I seriously feel there is such a huge connection in everything that it would kind of difficult for our brain to grasp, but I believe our minds do get it. Instinctively, I believe we get it so much that it frightens us, because we don't understand how we could understand something without it being taught to us. We may not understand why we have this power. If we have this power does it rule out that higher being that we believe so much in?

No. No. No. No it does not. If this being made us this way, it only make sense that this being knows that we have this power. We were given this innate knowledge as of means of growing and flowing through life. Some people abuse their greater gifts.Some people use their greater abilities to help others who lack this ability, to show them that it's possible to gain what they have.

And some people take advantage of that. And some may ask "Why?"

We know the answer. It's just sometimes we won't understand the answer until we get to the point that we need to reach.

For example, have you ever tried to learn something, but no matter how many times you read it it just didn't make sense. You felt that you understand it, but you just couldn't grasp it. Then, it happen! You get it!

Can I say why this happens? Nope. I won't even try.

But I'm at a point like this. I would like to write, but my mind if drawing a blank. I was getting frustrated with myself. And I just don't want to accept that I need a break. But I know I should.

This whole this is very interesting. It's like a system. Like a never ending line that just goes on and it leads somewhere, but it never ends. Some people might get tried and say "Why should I keep doing this? It will never end."

I'm the kind of person who would force myself to keep walking lol Like how it took me about 4 hours to make raviolis by hand. Mainly I had to flatten out each piece by hand (didn't have a rolling pin) mix and make the sauce. But first I had to constantly make dough. Although my mom and sister had fallen asleep waiting for me to finish dinner, and I only ended up making like 15 or so perfect little raviolis, I did think "should I stop?" but I couldn't bring myself to do it because I had to see if I could finish.

After watching my sister play Bioshock, and in the game dealing with alternate dimensions, I've started to think "if I don't do it, another me will somewhere else" xD Possibly a future me. Besides, such a challenge for myself is a great way to test my forward pushing skills. The only difference is the level of severity of the situation. I would like to be able to look a situation not as levels, but has a situation in itself.

I understand having limits, but it has been said that humans can withstand a lot, and that it's all in the mind. For example, a woman who picks a car off of her child, on any other given day would probably not believe she could do it. There was a man who was lifted more than 100 feet off the ground by a tornado and survived without even breaking a single bone. Am I saying everyone will have this "luck" (it's the only word I can think of)? No. Because everyone's situation is different. And certain things happen for us to learn from. Are they always things we want to happen? No. They will be as difficult as we believe them to be. In my opinion they are difficult because we are learning to deal with them using the skills we have. We may not have the necessary skill needed to handle it like a pro. But once we get it, it'll be easy!

I rambled and I haven't had one of these moments lol Now I"m gonna read the article and finish the video I started.

Mon

No comments:

Post a Comment