Friday, January 23, 2015

Kicking off the New Year with...

Morning!

I had to wake up early this morning.Well, it wasn't early, but for a night owl 5 a.m. is pretty early. Luckily I was able to drink a cup of green tea. I needed that. Hopefully it will keep me going throughout the day!

So today I'd like to talk about my plans this year. Last year was pretty murky. I was in a rut with my thoughts, my drawings, producing anything for that matter! It was tough. Yet, during the last three months I pushed myself to at least try to produce something because I really needed to get some classwork done. Although I barely passed one class with a D+, I passed my other two classes with a B and an A (I think I had an A lol).

At the start of this year I was determined to post some pages for my webcomic. Before starting my classes I had typed to my readers that I would post something after the quarter ended at my school. This didn't happen, but I did work on thumbnails. I decided to wait and post the pages when my classes begin this quarter. So far I've held true to that promise. I don't like breaking my promises. So I feel I at least owe it to them for waiting for four months for me to post something.

I found that things do take work and effort on our end. Even if we have the talent to do something, it's what we do with it and how we choose to use it that matters. I've been wondering if art is for me, and I can say that I have artistic abilities, but it's really up to me on whether I'll hone those skills and use them. I don't have to though.

The thing is that it's easy to not do something. I find that sometimes it may be tough to find out why we're doing things. For me, when I start something with a purpose, it starts to wear off. This happens with a lot of things. I have to keep myself motivated or I'll get bored with that purpose! I've been wondering would the relationships I have with people meet the same faith. Oh god!

Anyway, I'd like to do what I did the year before last, one last time! I got lazy, I'll admit. I know I can work hard and show some good results. I've done just that during my last year of high school.

So whenever I tell people "you can do it!" I truly believe they can. It's a matter of believing you can, working to prove you can and keeping yourself motivated until the end. Never give up no matter what!

I've done this when it comes to getting good grades, dropping junk food and working out. It's simple, do the things you put off lol If you say "I can get to it tomorrow" do it now. For example, if you have a paper that you are able to work on what three weeks, don't put it off until the last week. Work in increments. I find that this gives very good results.

Wanna workout. Pick a time and stick with it. I find that I never work out at the time I say. Yet, if it comes to mind I'll pull out the yoga mat and get to it!

The easiest thing is to put something off. This is easy!

I'm guilty of this too and I find that this is living life only halfheartedly. In the past I was usually very determined. I look back the things I've done then, and I realize that I'm still that person. Nothing has changed but what I knew than and what I know now. The past if nothing to live in, but to learn from.There may be experiences that we didn't particularly like, but it's a lesson of the things we don't want in our lives. Those things are the things we can be cautious of or avoid in the future.

So I've been reflecting, I guess, and I realized that during those times I would just do what I wanted to do. Once, I went to the library to get a French book, French for Dummies to be exact, for no reason but to see if I can learn some French. I started learning Japanese in order to communicate with a foreign exchange student. Yet, I also saw that I lacked a bit of confidence and I, to this day, still limit myself on what I can and can't do. Limitations are the things we place on ourselves. We can say that someone limits us, but it's we who decide who will limit us. It's we who decide who will and who want make us feel guilty for our choices.

I've been wondering about this "human nature" thing and the fact that it's normal for us to fit in. I will admit, I think it's common for us to want to be in contact with others, but is it really worth pushing who we really are to the back of our minds in order to fit in. Everyone is trying to fit in with everyone. Why? Now, if you're different, I don't mean you. But there are the different people who go around saying they're different in order to prove that they're being themselves, and there are the ones who know that they are and they have nothing to prove.

I do think it's a bit ridiculous to keep worrying about whether or not such and such will like us. Here's the thing, wouldn't you want someone to like you for who you are, not for what you pretend to be? Here's why. You can relax! When you pretend, it's like constantly having to dress up. I wonder if some people get use to this.

If everyone is constantly following what the other if doing, don't you realize it seems pretty ridiculous. That person you think you have to impress, may very well be trying to impress someone else by being what they want him/her to be, and then those people that that person is trying to impress may be trying to impress someone else. This thinking that it's "normal" is what is trapping us. We put it in  our minds that this is "normal" and thus, there's not need to go against it.

This "normal" thing is something that is useless. What's its purpose? Does it advance anything? Does it create freedom? Or does it repress? I find that if something doesn't yield a purpose, it's not worth any kind of worry or attention.

Now I have read that a lot of things do not have to be destroyed, but that it can be the foundation for something better.Build upon what already exist. I find that this may be a big one. Tradition vs. Unconventional ideals. I can understand this. I think traditions are like habits, they're difficult to break. I speak of habits in the way such as beliefs and values. No one wants their beliefs to be forced to go away. It's something we've either come to see as true, or that we've worked hard to gather as true for us.

But just like a habit, it can be substituted for something even better and even in this respect, it can still exist, and it doesn't disappear.

I'll give a good example. Let's take dieting! Most people would assume that they have to cut junk food from their diet entirely. I could only be speaking for me, but I will speak from experience. Don't cut it out all at once. This will lead to cravings and you're more likely to relapse when presented with an opportunity to indulge in some. Instead, cut it in portions. Don't eat a whole bag of chips in a day. Savor it. Start with eating small amounts per day. Don't drink a large soda, have a small. Then, try substituting it with something healthier. Healthy is not always bad.

When I decided to cut junk food from my diet, I ate trail mix. I didn't go extreme and start eating salads. Ever so often I would have a Reese's or a tea, but then I found that I could easily walk by a vending machine with no urge at all. Just a few minutes ago I went to CVS and walked right past all the junk. It's not something I feel I NEED. Junk is not a necessity.

Now during Winter break I did indulge in a lot of cake and pies, but this was because my family made way too much and they didn't want it to go bad. I'm back on track again.

The point is, is that creating something new from something that has always been, is not bad. I think most people are thinking in leap years. A major change is going to take a lot of time. It takes a bit of compromising in the beginning because everything is trying to work itself out. What doesn't help if shouting and yelling. Imagine living (and I use this example a lot) in a household with people you claim you can't stand. It's more about their living behaviors that bother you. I find that this can always be worked out but both sides have to agree to at least try.

TRY. This is the word. TRY. Do you best. With some effort it can really be done. Yet some people refuse to even do that. To at least try. Some people don't want to try because their okay with the way things are. It can be frustrating for the people who are trying. This is a tough situation because what if you're stuck with them? Well, I've been learning that working with like-minded people can yield better results.

Work with those who are trying as well. You'll see your efforts grow a lot quicker. Hey, maybe you'll even gain the interest or the one's who don't want to try. It only takes a few people to get the ball rolling.

One thing I would truly like to stress is that not all change is bad, and not everything needs to be changed but built upon. You see, something don't work as well as they use to. If you had t.v. that you've had for years and it just doesn't work anymore, would you continue to try to get it to work? You can do two things, purchase a new one all together or find a professional who can fix it, or improve it.

This is happening with television. Seeing this change is actually pretty exciting, but with this change I also see something else happening. Things are becoming easier and people are becoming a bit....uneducated. lol It's the nicest word I could think of.

I don't think technology is bad per se, but I do think an excess amount of it as caused people to become a bit more lazier. It's ridiculous how I can read comments or post online to find so many spelling errors, grammar mistakes and abbreviated words. There's nothing wrong with this, but it's actually pretty lazy. From a source (I won't mention who) they say that it's easier this way. Rather than picking up a good ol' fashion dictionary or looking the word up online, they prefer to just abbreviate the word. What's also a shame is that I'm considered the smart one in my household. That's a shame!

I read. If I have a question, I look for an answer. If I don'd understand something, I ask. I don't just accept what I read either. I consider it, I find some truth in it. This isn't about being smart, it's about understanding life, reality and thought. These things make it easier to connect to others. I read to understand, not just myself, but other cultures and people.

I'm happy I can read. I don't take that for granted. I feel that if people were serious, and they want to learn, they would, but some don't, so they prefer to keep it simply. Let's see where this goes. There would probably be people who work in a simple way. They take the easy route, not trying anything different. They keep it nice in simple in relationships. Why work at it?!

If things are easy, where will this lead? Does that sound like a fulfilling life. I'm not saying jump from a plane, or Rollerblade in the middle of the street, I'm saying that people should simple take advantage of what they're given. I mean, why wouldn't you? We know taking it easy is pleasurable, but is that all you want your life to be about? Pleasure. One of the most intoxicating things to exist in this world. We like things that are good to us. This is temptation. I think of things like this as a test of our will power. Will we allow pleasure to rule our lives? This thing called "pleasure" is something that only exist outside of ourselves.

I'm not saying don't have any, but don't let it over-rule you.

Have that slice of cake. Have that coffee! But know that there are risk to excessive indulgence in anything. Even water!

It's all about balance. "But how do I find balance?" you ask, well this is something you have to work at for yourself. No one knows you  better than you. You know your thoughts. You know when you've had enough.

I think of over-balanced indulgence.....hm...kind of like when a persona constantly as an intake of it, over time the effect it has on the person becomes higher, so they have to indulge in it more in order to feel the effects! This is a clear sign that there's too much indulgence in this thing that is in need of excessive amount. This is your indicator.

Yet, far be it from me to try to change anyone. I know that it's all about what you want your life to be. Are you okay with things as they are? Are you truly okay? Or do you feel a bit numb? Do you feel as if you've been doing the same thing for years and there's nothing new happening? There's no excitement? Just the same thing?

These are things you should ask yourself.

Is it always easy? No. I won't lie. It takes time and effort. I will never say work, because work sounds hard. But think, you took off many years to laze about to gain the habit, it's going to take time to work it off. But it's very possible! Remember that! It IS possible.

Do yous best!

Mon

No comments:

Post a Comment